Nomenclature
Four names, four categories
The house, the estate, the town and the family each have their own most credible historic name, Welsh first. Under each, every other name used in its place (column 1) and every person or body that used that name (column 2), linked to the catalogued record that shows it. Search-only and working labels are left to the full table of every wording below.
Tŷ Mawr
“Cedfin or Ty Mawr Farm”: David Stewart’s survey of the Bute Glamorgan estates, 1824, plan 19 (EV-0211), the first record found to name the house; “Ty-mawr” on the Ordnance Survey 25-inch map, c.1890s–1900s.
Read more: 35 other names and who used them
| Name used instead | Who used it (catalogued record) |
|---|---|
| Cydfin Farm or Ty Mawr Farm, (107 a.) Bute catalogue heading (D 219), not a dated mention · catalogue | Bute estate (D219; not yet catalogued) National Library of Wales · EV-0419 (D219; not yet catalogued) |
| Ty Mawr Farm otherwise Ked Fen Farm (126 a.) 14 Oct 1806 · catalogue wording, deed not read · catalogue | Bute estate (D 1/104; not yet catalogued) Lockwood estate (D 1/104; not yet catalogued) National Library of Wales (D 1/104; not yet catalogued) |
| Ty Mawr Farm or Red Fen Farm (126 a.) 1807 · catalogue wording, deed not read · catalogue | Bute estate (D 205/6–7; not yet catalogued) National Library of Wales (D 205/6–7; not yet catalogued) |
| Red Fen (Cedfin) 1807 · catalogue wording, deed not read · catalogue | Bute estate · EV-0211 (D 205/6–7; not yet catalogued) National Library of Wales · EV-0211 (D 205/6–7; not yet catalogued) |
| Cydfin Bute catalogue range; not a Tŷ Mawr date · catalogue | Bute estate (D219; not yet catalogued) National Library of Wales (D219; not yet catalogued) |
| Cedfin or Ty Mawr Farm 1824 · record | Bute estate · EV-0211 (DB/E/1; not yet catalogued) Glamorgan Archives · EV-0211 (DB/E/1; not yet catalogued) |
| Cedfin 1824 · record | Bute estate · EV-0211 (DB/E/1; not yet catalogued) Glamorgan Archives · EV-0211 · EV-0337 (DB/E/1; not yet catalogued) The National Archives · EV-0442 · EV-0444 (reply of 2026-08-20 (ref CAS-347296-M0V4Y1 CRM:007302424); reply of 2026-09-23 (ref CAS-347296-M0V4Y1 CRM:007302479); not yet catalogued) |
| Great house 1868–1901 · record | Trade directories · EV-0225 |
| Greathouse 1880 · record | Slater’s Directory · EV-0225 |
| Llandough Home Farm 3 Apr 1881 · record | The National Archives · EV-0224 (RG11/5288 p.2; not yet catalogued) |
| Ty-mawr c.1890s–1900s · record | Ordnance Survey · EV-0228 |
| Llandough Church Farm 22 Nov 1931 · identity unresolved | Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales · EV-0018 · EV-0140 · EV-0138 (63.24; FOI 2026-036; 63.24/1; not yet catalogued) |
| Great House Farm c.1945–1955 · record | Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales · EV-0296 · EV-0298 · EV-0297 · EV-0299 · EV-0300 Archaeology Data Service · EV-0301 Cadw · EV-0058 · EV-0488 · EV-0489 · EV-0491 · EV-0493 · EV-0494 · EV-0497 Dŵr Cymru Welsh Water · EV-0323 Glamorgan Archives · EV-0155 · EV-0214 · EV-0328 · EV-0326 · EV-0335 · EV-0336 (D/D XJF 64/30; not yet catalogued) Heneb (formerly GGAT) · EV-0058 · EV-0629 (GGAT02038s; not yet catalogued) Historic England · EV-0375 National Library of Wales · EV-0083 · EV-0419 · EV-0420 · EV-0421 · EV-0422 (reply of 2026-09-30; not yet catalogued) Ordnance Survey · EV-0424 RCAHMW / Coflein · EV-0630 · EV-0047 · EV-0631 · EV-0629 · EV-0430 · EV-0432 (GGAT02038s; not yet catalogued) Senedd · EV-0433 · EV-0434 South Wales Police · EV-0440 The National Archives · EV-0441 · EV-0442 · EV-0443 · EV-0444 · EV-0447 (reply of 2026-08-20 (ref CAS-347296-M0V4Y1 CRM:007302424); reply of 2026-09-23 (ref CAS-347296-M0V4Y1 CRM:007302479); not yet catalogued) The Postal Museum · EV-0449 Vale of Glamorgan Council · EV-0460 · EV-0467 Daily Telegraph · EV-0051 · GHF-E090-N04 · GHF-E090-N03 South Wales Echo · EV-0072 · EV-0097 · EV-0098 · EV-0102 Western Mail · EV-0051 · GHF-E090-N04 · GHF-E090-N03 |
| Great House Farm, Llandough 7 May 1958 · record (OCR; page image not seen) | Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales · EV-0296 · EV-0295 · EV-0299 · EV-0300 Cadw · EV-0488 · EV-0489 · EV-0494 Glamorgan Archives · EV-0326 Heneb (formerly GGAT) · EV-0372 National Library of Wales · EV-0419 · EV-0420 · EV-0421 · EV-0422 Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman · EV-0426 RCAHMW / Coflein · EV-0429 · EV-0430 · EV-0432 Senedd · EV-0433 · EV-0434 The National Archives · EV-0444 The Postal Museum · EV-0449 Western Mail · EV-0035 |
| Ty Mawr, Penarth Road, Llandough 20 Nov 1958 · record (OCR; page image not seen) | Western Mail · EV-0037 |
| Ty Mawr (Great House) 16 Apr 1974 · record | Daily Telegraph · GHF-E090-N03 |
| an 800-year-old house / the ten-roomed house 16 Apr 1974 · record | Daily Telegraph · GHF-E090-N03 |
| ancient Welsh house 16 Apr 1974 · record | RCAHMW / Coflein · EV-0048 · GHF-E090-N04 (GHF-E090-A67; not yet catalogued) Daily Telegraph · GHF-E090-N03 |
| Ty Mawr 16 Apr 1974 · record | Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales · EV-0296 · EV-0297 Archaeology Data Service · EV-0301 Glamorgan Archives · EV-0325 · EV-0335 · EV-0336 · EV-0337 Historic England · EV-0375 National Library of Wales · EV-0419 · EV-0420 Ordnance Survey · EV-0424 RCAHMW / Coflein · EV-0048 · GHF-E090-N04 · EV-0184 (GHF-E090-A67; not yet catalogued) South Wales Police · EV-0440 The National Archives · EV-0442 · EV-0444 · EV-0447 (reply of 2026-08-20 (ref CAS-347296-M0V4Y1 CRM:007302424); reply of 2026-09-23 (ref CAS-347296-M0V4Y1 CRM:007302479); not yet catalogued) Vale of Glamorgan Council · EV-0460 Daily Telegraph · GHF-E090-N03 · EV-0037 Western Mail · GHF-E090-N03 · EV-0037 |
| Great House 16 Apr 1974 · record | Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales · EV-0296 · EV-0297 Glamorgan Archives · EV-0325 · EV-0337 Heneb (formerly GGAT) National Library of Wales · EV-0419 RCAHMW / Coflein · EV-0432 Senedd · EV-0433 Vale of Glamorgan Council · EV-0460 Daily Telegraph · GHF-E090-N03 |
| Tymawr Farm, Llandough c.1975 · catalogue | Glamorgan Archives (CVG/EC/3/1/3/13; not yet catalogued) |
| Tymawr c.1975 · catalogue | Glamorgan Archives (CVG/EC/3/1/3/13; not yet catalogued) |
| the farm / the whole of the farm 31 Jul 1987 · record | Court of Appeal (1987) · EV-0080 ([1987] EWCA Civ 2; not yet catalogued) |
| former Great House Farm / “a 3.4 acre site located adjacent St. Dochdwy Parish Church” c.1989–90 · record | Vale of Glamorgan Council · EV-0201 (89/01396/OUT; not yet catalogued) Welsh Office (now Welsh Government) · EV-0201 (89/01396/OUT; not yet catalogued) |
| Land at Great House Farm, Llandough 1990 · record | Heneb (formerly GGAT) · EV-0900 · EV-0126 RCAHMW / Coflein · EV-0126 · EV-0432 |
| Church Farm 1994 record (find 1858) · identity unresolved | Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales · EV-0140 · EV-0295 · EV-0298 · EV-0297 · EV-0299 (63.24/1; not yet catalogued) |
| LLANDOUGH FARM (Ideal Homes Wales) 12 Jan 1994 · record | Ideal Homes Wales · EV-0133 |
| Great House Farm (GGAT02038s) current record · record | Heneb (formerly GGAT) |
| Ty Mawr Farm 23 Mar 2026 · record | Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales · EV-0299 Glamorgan Archives · EV-0337 HM Land Registry (WA231076; WA240304; not yet catalogued) |
| Great House, Llandough 2026 · identity unresolved | RCAHMW / Coflein · EV-0184 |
| Ty Mawr; Great House Farm current record · secondary | RCAHMW / Coflein |
| an 800-year-old house 16 Apr 1974 · record | Daily Telegraph · GHF-E090-N03 |
| the ten-roomed house 16 Apr 1974 · record | Daily Telegraph · GHF-E090-N03 |
| a coaching house 16 Apr 1974 · record | Daily Telegraph · GHF-E090-N03 |
| Great House current record · record | Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales · EV-0296 · EV-0297 Glamorgan Archives · EV-0325 · EV-0337 Heneb (formerly GGAT) National Library of Wales · EV-0419 RCAHMW / Coflein · EV-0432 Senedd · EV-0433 Vale of Glamorgan Council · EV-0460 Daily Telegraph · GHF-E090-N03 |
Cedwyn (Cetguinn)
“lann cetguinn”, “cum cetguinn”: the Book of Llandaf, 12th-century manuscript, pp. 202 and 279 (Evans and Rhys, The Text of the Book of Llan Dav, 1893), the earliest written form; “Cedfin”, Stewart’s 1824 survey (EV-0211).
Read more: 8 other names and who used them
| Name used instead | Who used it (catalogued record) |
|---|---|
| Cetguinn (lann cetguinn; cum cetguinn) 12th-century manuscript · record | Book of Llandaf (Evans and Rhys, 1893) |
| Cydfin Farm or Ty Mawr Farm, (107 a.) Bute catalogue heading (D 219), not a dated mention · catalogue | Bute estate (D219; not yet catalogued) National Library of Wales · EV-0419 (D219; not yet catalogued) |
| Cedfin or Ty Mawr Farm 1824 · record | Bute estate · EV-0211 (DB/E/1; not yet catalogued) Glamorgan Archives · EV-0211 (DB/E/1; not yet catalogued) |
| Cwm Cydfin, Nant Cydfin (Leckwith) 1898–1908 · record | Ordnance Survey RCAHMW / Coflein |
| Cwm Cydfin Wood 29 Nov 1902 · catalogue | Bute estate · EV-0219 |
| Nant Cedwyn, Cwm Cedwyn 1908 · secondary | Baring-Gould and Fisher, Lives of the British Saints |
| Cwm Cydfin, Leckwith (SSSI 0524) 1972, 1985 · record | Natural Resources Wales · EV-0218 |
| Cwm Cydffin SSSI 2020 · record | Natural Resources Wales |
Llandochau
“Llan-Dôch” and “Llan-Doche-Penarth”: Samuel Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849); “Llandochau Fach”: the 1851 Religious Census index (EV-0647 and the calendar of returns).
Read more: 17 other names and who used them
| Name used instead | Who used it (catalogued record) |
|---|---|
| Landoche-juxta-Cardif date not stated on the Wiki · record | Cardiff Corporation / Council |
| Landough East (with Dinas Powis and Cogan manors) 1767 (in the book) · secondary | Cardiff Corporation / Council |
| Llan-Dôch 1849 · record | British History Online / Lewis (1849) · EV-0647 (A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, pp. 524–536; not yet catalogued) |
| Llan-Doche-Penarth 1849 · record | British History Online / Lewis (1849) · EV-0647 (A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, pp. 524–536; not yet catalogued) |
| Llandough-Juxta-Penarth (Llandochau Fach) 1851 (index printed 1976) · secondary | Cofrestri Plwyf Cymru / Parish Registers of Wales (1986) General Register Office (1851 Religious Census) |
| Llandough-juxta-Cardiff 1882 · secondary | Cardiff Corporation / Council |
| Glamorgan 47 NW object name books, 1898–1942 (TNA OS 35/2503) 1898–1942 · catalogue | The National Archives |
| Llandough by Cardiff in print (date not checked) · secondary | Cardiff Corporation / Council |
| Llandough [juxta-Penarth] c.1945–1955 · catalogue | Glamorgan Archives · EV-0155 · EV-0326 (D/D XJF 64/30; not yet catalogued) |
| Penarth Road, Llandough 20 Nov 1958 · record (OCR) | Western Mail · EV-0037 |
| Urban District of Penarth 11 Jun 1965 · record | 1965 conveyance: land “in the Urban District of Penarth in the County of Glamorgan” · EV-0042 |
| Llandough near Cardiff 16 Apr 1974 · record | Daily Telegraph · GHF-E090-N03 |
| Llandough-juxta-Penarth, County Series sheet Glamorgan 47 NW (XLVII.6 at 1:2,500) 20 Oct 2026 · record | Ordnance Survey |
| Llandough, near Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan 27 Jun 2026 · record | Ordnance Survey |
| CF64 modern · record | no catalogued use found yet |
| Llandochau 2026 · record | RCAHMW / Coflein · EV-0432 Senedd · EV-0433 |
| St Dochdwy’s Church, Llandough current · record | no catalogued use found yet |
Williams of Tŷ Mawr
“Williams John, Great house”: trade directories, 1868–1901 (EV-0225); “Her father was John Williams of Great House Farm”: Glamorgan Archives D/D XJF 64/30 (EV-0155).
Read more: 5 other names and who used them
| Name used instead | Who used it (catalogued record) |
|---|---|
| Williams John, Great house 1868–1901 · record | Trade directories · EV-0225 |
| John Williams, 53, farmer, Llandough Home Farm 3 Apr 1881 · record | The National Archives · EV-0224 (RG11/5288 p.2; not yet catalogued) |
| John Williams of Great House Farm c.1945–1955 · record | Glamorgan Archives · EV-0155 (D/D XJF 64/30; not yet catalogued) National Library of Wales · EV-0422 |
| “my family … for more than 400 years” 16 Apr 1974 · record | Daily Telegraph · GHF-E090-N03 |
| Buckler 31 Jul 1987 · record | Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales · EV-0296 · EV-0295 · EV-0297 · EV-0298 · EV-0299 · EV-0300 Cadw · EV-0489 · EV-0491 · EV-0492 · EV-0494 · EV-0497 Cardiff and Vale University Health Board · EV-0315 Coroner's Service · EV-0318 · EV-0317 Court of Appeal (1987) · EV-0080 · EV-0640 · EV-0636 ([1987] EWCA Civ 2; not yet catalogued) Crown Prosecution Service · EV-0320 Dŵr Cymru Welsh Water · EV-0323 Glamorgan Archives · EV-0025 · EV-0324 · EV-0326 · EV-0331 · EV-0332 · EV-0334 · EV-0333 · EV-0335 · EV-0337 · EV-0336 · EV-0338 (D696; reply of 2026-04-23 (ref 2026/1708); not yet catalogued) HM Land Registry · EV-0350 · EV-0370 Heneb (formerly GGAT) · EV-0371 · EV-0372 Historic England · EV-0375 ITV Archive · EV-0380 Llandough Community Council · EV-0181 · GHF-E106-R53 · EV-0388 · EV-0389 · EV-0390 · EV-0392 Member of Parliament (constituency office) · EV-0399 · EV-0401 Ministry of Justice / HMCTS · EV-0414 · EV-0416 National Library of Wales · EV-0419 · EV-0420 · EV-0421 · EV-0422 (reply of 2026-09-30; not yet catalogued) Northern Ireland Office (reply of 2026-09-29; not yet catalogued) Ordnance Survey · EV-0424 Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs Committee · EV-0428 RCAHMW / Coflein · EV-0432 Senedd · EV-0433 · EV-0434 · EV-0435 The National Archives · EV-0035 · EV-0441 · EV-0442 · EV-0443 · EV-0444 · EV-0446 · EV-0447 (reply of 2026-08-20 (ref CAS-347296-M0V4Y1 CRM:007302424); reply of 2026-09-23 (ref CAS-347296-M0V4Y1 CRM:007302479); not yet catalogued) Vale of Glamorgan Council · EV-0460 · EV-0455 · EV-0458 · EV-0464 · EV-0463 · EV-0467 (reply of 2026-10-11; not yet catalogued) South Wales Echo · EV-0088 · EV-0090 · EV-0092 · GHF-E090-N15 · EV-0109 · EV-0110 · EV-0112 · EV-0121 Western Mail · EV-0035 · EV-0037 |
Great House Farm / Tŷ Mawr
51 wordings the records and catalogues use for the farm beside St Dochdwy’s Church, Llandough-juxta-Penarth, oldest first:
“Cydwin” · “Cedwyn” · “Cydfin Farm or Ty Mawr Farm, (107 a.)” · “Ty Mawr Farm otherwise Ked Fen Farm (126 a.)” · “Ty Mawr Farm or Red Fen Farm (126 a.)” · “Red Fen (Cedfin)” · “Cydfin” · “Cedfin or Ty Mawr Farm” · “Cedfin” · “Great house” · “Greathouse” · “Llandough Home Farm” · “Land Doc Home Farm” · “R-W-S-S Farm / Reese’s Farm” · “Ty-mawr” · “Llandough Church Farm” · “Great House Farm” · “Great House Farm, Llandough” · “Ty Mawr, Penarth Road, Llandough” · “Ty Mawr (Great House)” · “an 800-year-old house / the ten-roomed house” · “ancient Welsh house” · “Ty Mawr” · “Great House” · “Tymawr Farm, Llandough” · “Tymawr” · “the farm / the whole of the farm” · “former Great House Farm / “a 3.4 acre site located adjacent St. Dochdwy Parish Church”” · “Land at Great House Farm, Llandough” · “Church Farm” · “LLANDOUGH FARM (Ideal Homes Wales)” · “Great House Farm (GGAT02038s)” · “Tŷ Mawr” · “Cydfin Farm” · “Cedfyn” · “Ty Mawr Farm” · “Cefin” · “Tŷ Mawr Farm” · “Great House, Llandough” · “Great House Farm / Tŷ Mawr” · “Great House Farm (Tŷ Mawr)” · “Great House Farm (Ty Mawr)” · “Ty Mawr / Great House” · “Great House Farm / Tŷ Mawr (Cedfin)” · “Ty Mawr Llandoche” · “ST 167 733” · “ST 168 733” · “ST 1681 7331” · “CF64 2NN” · “Ty Mawr; Great House Farm” · “y Tŷ Mawr”
Every wording, and every institution that uses it ↓ · The farm’s own page
B
C
D
F
G
H
L
- Land Registry title numbers6 wordings · VG41, WA231076, WA240304
- Linklaters & Paines → Linklaters2 wordings · Linklaters & Paines, Linklaters
- Leckwith (Lecwydd)Historical forms from c.1179 · proposed Helygwydd origin · Llechwedd folk etymology
- Llandough (near Penarth)9 wordings · Landoche-juxta-Cardif, Llandough [juxta-Penarth], Penarth Road, Llandough
- Local councils over time8 wordings · Glamorgan County Council, Penarth Urban and Cardiff Rural Councils, the former Glamorgan County Council
- Loosemores → Hugh James (solicitors)3 wordings · Loosemores, Hugh James, John Loosemore & Co / Loosemores Services (01379651)
M
N
P
R
W
- Welsh Office → Welsh Government (and Cadw)5 wordings · Welsh Office, Cadw, Wales Office / former Welsh Office
- Western Ground Rents (WGR)5 wordings · Western Ground Rents, Western Ground Rents (order to cut off water), Western Ground Rents Ltd
- The whole farm (Parcels A and B together)3 wordings · whole farm, the whole of the farm, Parcels A and B
- The Williams–Buckler family6 wordings · Williams John, Great house, John Williams, 53, farmer, Llandough Home Farm, John Williams of Great House Farm
- The woodland6 wordings · Cwm Cydfin Wood (Leckwith and Llandough), Leckwith Woods, Cwm Cydfin SSSI
Every wording, and who uses it
26 things, 216 wordings, one row each. Column 2 lists every institution whose records, catalogues or letters use that exact wording, with the record reference. Newspapers and books follow under “In print”. Where no institution has been found yet, the row is marked “no institutional use found yet”.
- record Wording seen in a held document or its transcription
- record (OCR; page image not seen) Newspaper search-result text; page image not seen
- catalogue Archive catalogue wording; document not seen
- secondary A later source citing the record
- reported Reported reading; image not verified
- identity unresolved Source wording exists; whether it means the same thing is not proved
- wiki label The Wiki’s own analytical term
- SOURCE PENDING No record found yet
| Wording | Used by (institution and record) | Refers to | Earliest dated use |
|---|---|---|---|
| Great House Farm · 51 wordings | |||
| “Cydwin”reported | no institutional use found yet | the farm | 1547 |
| “Cedwyn”SOURCE PENDING | no institutional use found yet | the farm | 16th century (reported) |
| “Cydfin Farm or Ty Mawr Farm, (107 a.)”catalogue |
| the farm | 1552–1824 (Bute catalogue range; not a Tŷ Mawr date) |
| “Ty Mawr Farm otherwise Ked Fen Farm (126 a.)”catalogue |
| the farm | 14 Oct 1806 |
| “Ty Mawr Farm or Red Fen Farm (126 a.)”catalogue |
| the farm | 1807 |
| “Red Fen (Cedfin)”catalogue |
| the farm | 1807 |
| “Cydfin”catalogue |
| the farm | Bute catalogue range; not a Tŷ Mawr date |
| “Cedfin or Ty Mawr Farm”record |
| the farm | 1824 |
| “Cedfin”record |
| the farm | 1824 |
| “Great house”record | no institutional use found yet In print: Trade directories (EV-0225) | the farm | 1868–1901 |
| “Greathouse”record | no institutional use found yet In print: Slater’s Directory (EV-0225) | the farm | 1880 |
| “Llandough Home Farm”record |
| the farm | 3 Apr 1881 |
| “Land Doc Home Farm”reported |
| the farm | 1881 (reported) |
| “R-W-S-S Farm / Reese’s Farm”reported |
| the farm | 1881 (reported) |
| “Ty-mawr”record |
| the farm | c.1890s–1900s |
| “Llandough Church Farm”identity unresolved |
| the farm | 22 Nov 1931 |
| “Great House Farm”record |
In print: Daily Telegraph (EV-0051; GHF-E090-N04; GHF-E090-N03) · South Wales Echo (EV-0072; EV-0097; EV-0098) · Western Mail (EV-0051; GHF-E090-N04; GHF-E090-N03) | the farm | c.1945–1955 |
| “Great House Farm, Llandough”record (OCR; page image not seen) |
In print: Western Mail (EV-0035) | the farm | 7 May 1958 |
| “Ty Mawr, Penarth Road, Llandough”record (OCR; page image not seen) | no institutional use found yet In print: Western Mail (EV-0037) | the farm | 20 Nov 1958 |
| “Ty Mawr (Great House)”record | no institutional use found yet In print: Daily Telegraph (GHF-E090-N03) | the farm | 16 Apr 1974 |
| “an 800-year-old house / the ten-roomed house”record | no institutional use found yet In print: Daily Telegraph (GHF-E090-N03) | the farm | 16 Apr 1974 |
| “ancient Welsh house”record |
In print: Daily Telegraph (GHF-E090-N03) | the farm | 16 Apr 1974 |
| “Ty Mawr”record |
In print: Daily Telegraph (GHF-E090-N03; EV-0037) · Western Mail (GHF-E090-N03; EV-0037) | the farm | 16 Apr 1974 |
| “Great House”record |
In print: Daily Telegraph (GHF-E090-N03) | the farm | 16 Apr 1974 |
| “Tymawr Farm, Llandough”catalogue |
| the farm | c.1975 |
| “Tymawr”catalogue |
| the farm | c.1975 |
| “the farm / the whole of the farm”record |
| the farm | 31 Jul 1987 |
| “former Great House Farm / “a 3.4 acre site located adjacent St. Dochdwy Parish Church””record |
| the farm | c.1989–90 |
| “Land at Great House Farm, Llandough”record |
| the farm | 1990 |
| “Church Farm”identity unresolved |
| the farm | 1994 record (find 1858) |
| “LLANDOUGH FARM (Ideal Homes Wales)”record |
| the farm | 12 Jan 1994 |
| “Great House Farm (GGAT02038s)”record |
| the farm | current record |
| “Tŷ Mawr”wiki label |
| the farm | — |
| “Cydfin Farm”wiki label | no institutional use found yet | the farm | current |
| “Cedfyn”SOURCE PENDING | no institutional use found yet | the farm | — |
| “Ty Mawr Farm”record |
| the farm | 23 Mar 2026 |
| “Cefin”SOURCE PENDING | no institutional use found yet | the farm | — |
| “Tŷ Mawr Farm”SOURCE PENDING |
| the farm | 2026 |
| “Great House, Llandough”identity unresolved |
| the farm | 2026 |
| “Great House Farm / Tŷ Mawr”SOURCE PENDING | no institutional use found yet | the farm | 2026 |
| “Great House Farm (Tŷ Mawr)”SOURCE PENDING |
| the farm | 2026 |
| “Great House Farm (Ty Mawr)”SOURCE PENDING |
| the farm | 2026 |
| “Ty Mawr / Great House”SOURCE PENDING | no institutional use found yet | the farm | 2026 |
| “Great House Farm / Tŷ Mawr (Cedfin)”SOURCE PENDING | no institutional use found yet | the farm | 2026 |
| “Ty Mawr Llandoche”SOURCE PENDING | no institutional use found yet | the farm | 13 Oct 2026 |
| “ST 167 733”SOURCE PENDING |
| grid reference | 2026 |
| “ST 168 733”SOURCE PENDING |
| grid reference | 2026 |
| “ST 1681 7331”SOURCE PENDING | no institutional use found yet | grid reference | 2026 |
| “CF64 2NN”SOURCE PENDING | no institutional use found yet | postcode | 2026 |
| “Ty Mawr; Great House Farm”secondary |
| the farm | current record |
| “y Tŷ Mawr”SOURCE PENDING | no institutional use found yet | the farm | — |
| “Llandough Farm” |
| not the same thing: A separate farm (the Rees family; “Llandough Farm (opposite hospital)”; NLW D219/9–13, 166 acres; OS 57). Not a name of Great House Farm, Tŷ Mawr or Cydfin Farm (EV-0228; Kissed Frogs KF-35). The 1994 developer drawing titled “Llandough Farm” (EV-0133) is list | — |
| “The Mansion of Llandough” |
| not the same thing: A separate holding. The book does not say the Mansion of Llandough is Tŷ Mawr and no record links the two. Listed here because the two are easily run together. Source: A local history book, chapter ‘Llandough (Penarth)’, p. 66: Henry VIII grants the Mansion of | — |
| “LLANDOUGH FARM (Ideal Homes Wales)” |
| flagged, parcel not identified: Developer’s label on the 12 Jan 1994 Ideal Homes Wales drawing (site location map and village green planting plan, EV-0133); parcel not identified; not a name of the farm. Which land the drawing covers is still to be checked. | — |
| “Llandough Farm, near Cardiff” |
| flagged, not placed: Glamorgan Archives catalogue title of DSA/12/5400 (1931–1938; EV-0017). Not placed: a name trap. Llandough Farm was a separate farm, and which land this file covers is not established. Not a name of Great House Farm. | — |
| The farmhouse · 7 wordings | |||
| “an 800-year-old house”record | no institutional use found yet In print: Daily Telegraph (GHF-E090-N03) | the farmhouse | 16 Apr 1974 |
| “the ten-roomed house”record | no institutional use found yet In print: Daily Telegraph (GHF-E090-N03) | the farmhouse | 16 Apr 1974 |
| “a coaching house”record | no institutional use found yet In print: Daily Telegraph (GHF-E090-N03) | the farmhouse | 16 Apr 1974 |
| “the farmhouse (title WA240304)”wiki label |
| the farmhouse | 23 Feb 1983 |
| “Great House”record |
In print: Daily Telegraph (GHF-E090-N03) | the farmhouse | current record |
| “manor house”wiki label | no institutional use found yet | the farmhouse | — |
| “farmhouse / buildings parcel”wiki label | no institutional use found yet | the farmhouse | — |
| The Cedwyn estate · 14 wordings | |||
| “Cetguinn (lann cetguinn; cum cetguinn)”record | no institutional use found yet In print: Book of Llandaf (Evans and Rhys, 1893) | the estate | 12th-century manuscript |
| “Cwm Cedwyn”SOURCE PENDING | no institutional use found yet | the estate | 1392 (reported) |
| “Cydwin”reported | no institutional use found yet | the estate | 1547 (reported) |
| “Cydfin Farm or Ty Mawr Farm, (107 a.)”catalogue |
| the estate | 1552–1824 (Bute catalogue range; not a Tŷ Mawr date) |
| “Cedfin or Ty Mawr Farm”record |
| the estate | 1824 |
| “Cwm Cydfin, Nant Cydfin (Leckwith)”record |
| the estate | 1898–1908 |
| “Cwm Cydfin Wood”catalogue |
| the estate | 29 Nov 1902 |
| “Nant Cedwyn, Cwm Cedwyn”secondary | no institutional use found yet In print: Baring-Gould and Fisher, Lives of the British Saints | the estate | 1908 |
| “Cwm Cydfin, Leckwith (SSSI 0524)”record |
| the estate | 1972, 1985 |
| “Cwm Cydffin SSSI”record |
| the estate | 2020 |
| “Cedwyn Estate”wiki label | no institutional use found yet | the estate | — |
| “Kedwyn”SOURCE PENDING | no institutional use found yet | the estate | — |
| “Cedwin”SOURCE PENDING | no institutional use found yet | the estate | — |
| “Cydfyn”SOURCE PENDING | no institutional use found yet | the estate | — |
| The whole farm (Parcels A and B together) · 3 wordings | |||
| “whole farm”SOURCE PENDING |
| land: the whole farm | 1955 (reported) |
| “the whole of the farm”record |
| land: the whole farm | 31 Jul 1987 |
| “Parcels A and B”wiki label | no institutional use found yet | land: the whole farm | — |
| Parcel A · 4 wordings | |||
| “Plan N5”SOURCE PENDING |
| land: Parcel A | 6 Nov 1877 |
| “Parcel A”wiki label |
| land: Parcel A | — |
| “house parcel”wiki label |
| land: Parcel A | — |
| “house-side parcel”wiki label | no institutional use found yet | land: Parcel A | — |
| Parcel B · 2 wordings | |||
| “Parcel B”wiki label |
| land: Parcel B | — |
| “eastern fields / fields to the east”wiki label | no institutional use found yet | land: Parcel B | — |
| The woodland · 6 wordings | |||
| “Cwm Cydfin Wood (Leckwith and Llandough)”catalogue |
| the woodland | 29 Nov 1902 |
| “Leckwith Woods”secondary |
| the woodland | 1940–1942 |
| “Cwm Cydfin SSSI”record |
| the woodland | 1972 |
| “the woodland (title WA735527)”catalogue |
| the woodland | 10 Nov 1994 |
| “forest north of the house”wiki label | no institutional use found yet | the woodland | — |
| “the woods / the forest”wiki label | no institutional use found yet | the woodland | — |
| “Forest of Cardiff” |
| not the same thing: The organisation (a community forest company) that took the woodland in 1994, not the wood itself. | — |
| The green (VG41) and Church View Close · 8 wordings | |||
| “VG41 (village green)”record |
| the green | register (1965 Act) |
| “village green”record (snippet only) | no institutional use found yet In print: South Wales Echo (EV-0273) | the green | 23 Feb 1990 |
| “Church View Close, CF64 2NN”record |
| the green | after 3 Dec 1993 |
| “Church View Close, CF64”record |
| the green | after 3 Dec 1993 |
| “LLANDOUGH VILLAGE GREEN”record |
| the green | 12 Jan 1994 |
| “ground south-east of the house”wiki label | no institutional use found yet | the green | — |
| “the green”wiki label | no institutional use found yet | the green | — |
| “Church View Close”SOURCE PENDING |
| street on the green | 2026 |
| Llandough (near Penarth) · 25 wordings | |||
| “Landoche-juxta-Cardif”record |
| the parish / village | date not stated on the Wiki |
| “Landough East (with Dinas Powis and Cogan manors)”secondary |
| the parish / village | 1767 (in the book) |
| “Llan-Dôch”record |
| the parish / village | 1849 |
| “Llan-Doche-Penarth”record |
| the parish / village | 1849 |
| “Llandough-Juxta-Penarth (Llandochau Fach)”secondary |
| the parish / village | 1851 (index printed 1976) |
| “Llandough-juxta-Cardiff”secondary |
| the parish / village | 1882 |
| “Glamorgan 47 NW object name books, 1898–1942 (TNA OS 35/2503)”catalogue |
| the parish / village | 1898–1942 |
| “Llandough by Cardiff”secondary |
| the parish / village | in print (date not checked) |
| “Llandough [juxta-Penarth]”catalogue |
| the parish / village | c.1945–1955 |
| “Penarth Road, Llandough”record (OCR) | no institutional use found yet In print: Western Mail (EV-0037) | the parish / village | 20 Nov 1958 |
| “Urban District of Penarth”record | no institutional use found yet | the parish / village | 11 Jun 1965 |
| “Llandough near Cardiff”record | no institutional use found yet In print: Daily Telegraph (GHF-E090-N03) | the parish / village | 16 Apr 1974 |
| “Llandough-juxta-Penarth, County Series sheet Glamorgan 47 NW (XLVII.6 at 1:2,500)”record |
| the parish / village | 20 Oct 2026 |
| “Llandough, near Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan”record |
| the parish / village | 27 Jun 2026 |
| “Llandough, Penarth”SOURCE PENDING |
| the parish / village | 2026 |
| “Llandough, Cardiff”SOURCE PENDING | no institutional use found yet | the parish / village | 2026 |
| “Llandough-juxta-Penarth”wiki label |
| the parish / village | — |
| “Llandough near Penarth”wiki label | no institutional use found yet | the parish / village | — |
| “CF64”record | no institutional use found yet | the parish / village | modern |
| “Llandochau”record |
| the parish / village | 2026 |
| “Llandough”SOURCE PENDING |
In print: South Wales Echo (EV-0104; EV-0108) | village and parish | 2026 |
| “Parish of Llandough”SOURCE PENDING | no institutional use found yet | parish | 2026 |
| “St Dochdwy’s Church”SOURCE PENDING |
| parish church | 2026 |
| “St Dochdwy’s Church, Llandough”record | no institutional use found yet | the parish / village | current |
| “Llan-Doch”SOURCE PENDING | no institutional use found yet Nearest printed form: “Llan-Dôch” (with circumflex), Lewis 1849, EV-0647 | the parish / village | — |
| Leckwith (Lecwydd) · 16 wordings | |||
| “Leckwith”secondary |
In print: Western Mail (EV-0035) | the parish (Leckwith) | c.1179 |
| “Leocwtha”secondary |
| the parish (Leckwith) | c.1180 |
| “Lequid”secondary |
| the parish (Leckwith) | 1184–1185 |
| “Lecquid”secondary |
| the parish (Leckwith) | c.1239 |
| “Leecwith”secondary |
| the parish (Leckwith) | 1281 |
| “Lequyth alias Lecwitthe”secondary |
| the parish (Leckwith) | 1307 |
| “Lekwythe”secondary |
| the parish (Leckwith) | 1307 |
| “Lycuyth”secondary |
| the parish (Leckwith) | 1450 |
| “Pont Lecwith”secondary |
| the parish (Leckwith) | c.1538 |
| “Llechwyth”secondary | no institutional use found yet In print: The Gem (Barry and Penarth) | the parish (Leckwith) | 1578 |
| “Llanvihangel Legwydd”secondary |
| the parish (Leckwith) | 1789 |
| “Lleccwydd”secondary |
| the parish (Leckwith) | c.1795 |
| “Llechwydd”secondary |
| the parish (Leckwith) | c.1795 |
| “Lecwydd”secondary |
| the parish (Leckwith) | 1871 |
| “Leckwyth”SOURCE PENDING | no institutional use found yet | the parish (Leckwith) | — |
| “Lecquith”SOURCE PENDING | no institutional use found yet | the parish (Leckwith) | — |
| “Lyquith” |
| flagged, exact spelling not verified: Search spelling supplied for investigation; not found as an exact form in the consulted Welsh Place-Name Society index. Compare indexed Lycuyth (1450) and Lequyth (1307). | — |
| “Lequeth” | — | flagged, exact spelling not verified: Search spelling supplied for investigation; not found as an exact form in the consulted historical-forms index. Keep as a search lead pending a record reference. | — |
| Mary (Nancy) Williams, formerly Buckler · 12 wordings | |||
| “Nancy”record |
| the person | c.1945–1955 |
| “Mrs Nancy Buckler of Great House Farm”record |
| the person | c.1945–1955 |
| “Mrs. M. D. BUCKLER … Llandough”record (OCR snippet only) | no institutional use found yet In print: Western Mail (EV-0242) | the person | 9 Oct 1957 |
| “Mrs. Mary Doreen Buckler, of Great House Farm, Llandough”record (OCR; page image not seen) | no institutional use found yet In print: Western Mail (EV-0035) | the person | 7 May 1958 |
| “woman farmer”record (OCR; page image not seen) | no institutional use found yet In print: Western Mail (EV-0037) | the person | 20 Nov 1958 |
| “Mrs. M D. Buckler”record (OCR; page image not seen) | no institutional use found yet In print: Western Mail (EV-0037) | the person | 20 Nov 1958 |
| “Mrs Mary Williams, 60”record | no institutional use found yet In print: Daily Telegraph (GHF-E090-N03) | the person | 16 Apr 1974 |
| “a widow”record | no institutional use found yet In print: Daily Telegraph (GHF-E090-N03) | the person | 16 Apr 1974 |
| “Mrs Williams”record |
| the person | 1974 (recited 1987) |
| “Mary Doreen Williams”SOURCE PENDING |
| the person | Mar 1983 (index) |
| “Mrs Buckler”record |
In print: South Wales Echo (EV-0099) | the person | 31 Jul 1987 |
| “Mary (Nancy) Williams”wiki label | no institutional use found yet | the person | — |
| “Mary Godfrey” | — | not the same thing: A different person with her own testimony page. | — |
| The Williams–Buckler family · 7 wordings | |||
| “Williams John, Great house”record | no institutional use found yet In print: Trade directories (EV-0225) | the family | 1868–1901 |
| “John Williams, 53, farmer, Llandough Home Farm”record |
| the family | 3 Apr 1881 |
| “John Williams of Great House Farm”record |
| the family | c.1945–1955 |
| ““my family … for more than 400 years””record | no institutional use found yet In print: Daily Telegraph (GHF-E090-N03) | the family | 16 Apr 1974 |
| “Buckler”record |
In print: South Wales Echo (EV-0088; EV-0090; EV-0092) · Western Mail (EV-0035; EV-0037) | the family | 31 Jul 1987 |
| “the Buckler family / the Williams family”wiki label | no institutional use found yet | the family | — |
| “Williams of Great House”SOURCE PENDING | no institutional use found yet | the family | 2026 |
| Land Registry title numbers · 6 wordings | |||
| “VG41”record | no institutional use found yet | Land Registry title | 1965 Act register |
| “WA231076”record |
| Land Registry title | 30 Nov 1982 |
| “WA240304”record |
| Land Registry title | 23 Feb 1983 |
| “WA735527”record |
| Land Registry title | 10 Nov 1994 |
| “WA513690”SOURCE PENDING |
| Land Registry title | — |
| “CYM265133 / CYM349627”record |
| Land Registry title | 2 Dec 2005 |
| Field, plot and plan numbers · 6 wordings | |||
| “plan 19”record |
| field / plan number | 1824 |
| “Plan N5”SOURCE PENDING |
| field / plan number | 6 Nov 1877 |
| “OS 35/2503”catalogue |
| field / plan number | catalogue |
| “Enclosure 106, OS Glamorgan Sheet XLVII.6 (1941 Edition)”record | no institutional use found yet | field / plan number | 11 Jun 1965 |
| “OS 57 “Llandough Farm” (1.203a)”record | no institutional use found yet | field / plan number | 11 Jun 1965 |
| “Part of O.S. Nos. 3203 and 3409 Cogan”record |
| field / plan number | 1 Aug 1972 |
| BP companies (BP Pension Trust / BP Properties) · 8 wordings | |||
| “BP Pension Trust”record |
| organisation | 1969 (per HMLR 2026) |
| “B P Petroleum Pension Trust”record | no institutional use found yet In print: Daily Telegraph (GHF-E090-N03) | organisation | 16 Apr 1974 |
| “BP Properties Ltd”record |
| organisation | 31 Oct 1974 |
| “BP pension fund”record |
| organisation | 22 May 1980 |
| “BP Trustees”record |
| organisation | 31 Jul 1987 |
| “BPPT”SOURCE PENDING |
| organisation | — |
| “BP plc”wiki label | no institutional use found yet | organisation | — |
| “BP Properties Limited (00699446)”record |
| organisation | current |
| Western Ground Rents (WGR) · 5 wordings | |||
| “Western Ground Rents”record |
In print: Western Mail (EV-0022) | organisation | 24 Dec 1938 |
| “Western Ground Rents (order to cut off water)”record (OCR) |
In print: Western Mail (EV-0037) | organisation | 20 Nov 1958 |
| “Western Ground Rents Ltd”record |
| organisation | 11 Jun 1965 |
| “WESTERN GROUND RENTS LIMITED”record |
| organisation | 3 Jul 1996 |
| “WGR”wiki label | no institutional use found yet | organisation | — |
| Local councils over time · 8 wordings | |||
| “Glamorgan County Council”record |
In print: Western Mail (EV-0036) | council | 24 Sep 1958 |
| “Penarth Urban and Cardiff Rural Councils”record (OCR) |
In print: Western Mail (EV-0037) | council | 20 Nov 1958 |
| “the former Glamorgan County Council”record | no institutional use found yet In print: Daily Telegraph (GHF-E090-N03) | council | 16 Apr 1974 |
| “Llandough Community Council (formed 1982)”wiki label |
| council | 1982 |
| “Llandough Community Council”record |
In print: South Wales Echo (EV-0273) | council | 23 Feb 1990 |
| “Vale of Glamorgan Borough Council”record |
| council | c.1990s |
| “Vale of Glamorgan Council”record |
| council | 2026 |
| “Penarth Urban District Council”record |
| council | 2026 |
| Welsh Office → Welsh Government (and Cadw) · 5 wordings | |||
| “Welsh Office”record |
| institution | 1985–1992 |
| “Cadw”reported |
| institution | 1988 |
| “Wales Office / former Welsh Office”record |
| institution | 22 Sep 2026 |
| “Welsh Government”record |
| institution | 19 Oct 2026 |
| “dates of the Welsh Office → Welsh Assembly Government → Welsh Government changes”SOURCE PENDING | no institutional use found yet | institution | — |
| HM Land Registry · 3 wordings | |||
| “HM Land Registry “about to register” notices”record |
| institution | 1960–1972 |
| “HM Land Registry (HMLR)”record |
| institution | 2026 |
| “Independent Complaints Reviewer (ICR)”record |
| institution | 2026 |
| Heneb (formerly GGAT) · 4 wordings | |||
| “Glamorgan-Gwent Archaeological Trust (GGAT)”record |
| institution | 1990 |
| “GGAT02038s”record |
| institution | current |
| “Heneb (formerly GGAT)”record |
| institution | 2026 |
| “date of the GGAT → Heneb change”SOURCE PENDING | no institutional use found yet | institution | — |
| RCAHMW / National Monuments Record of Wales / Coflein · 4 wordings | |||
| “Royal Commission (RCAHMW) National Monuments Record stamp”record | no institutional use found yet | institution | 1974 |
| “NPRN 20182”record |
| institution | current |
| “Coflein”record |
| institution | current |
| “RCAHMW (ref RC26-0375)”record |
| institution | 13 Oct 2026 |
| Public Record Office → The National Archives · 3 wordings | |||
| “Historical Manuscripts Commission”record |
| institution | 1959 |
| “Public Record Office (PRO)”record |
| institution | 2003 |
| “The National Archives (TNA)”record |
| institution | 2003 |
| National Museum of Wales → Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales · 2 wordings | |||
| “Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales”record |
| institution | 1994–2026 |
| “National Museum of Wales”record |
| institution | — |
| Dŵr Cymru / Welsh Water · 2 wordings | |||
| “Dŵr Cymru”record |
| water company | 2026 |
| “Welsh Water”record |
| water company | 2026 |
| Loosemores → Hugh James (solicitors) · 3 wordings | |||
| “Loosemores”record |
| solicitors | 1987 |
| “Hugh James”record |
| solicitors | 3 Jul 2023 |
| “John Loosemore & Co / Loosemores Services (01379651)”record |
| solicitors | — |
| Linklaters & Paines → Linklaters · 2 wordings | |||
| “Linklaters & Paines”record |
| solicitors | 1983 |
| “Linklaters”record |
| solicitors | 2026 |
51 institutions in all. “Reply of” rows are the institution’s own letter or email in the case file; catalogue rows cite the evidence catalogue number.
About these names
26 things, 216 wordings. Harvested from the Legal Wiki (greathousefarmwiki.wordpress.com; 794 pages read through the public REST API, 21 Oct 2026), its evidence register, transcripts and nomenclature pages. Each variant is the wording of the record cited; where no record was found it is marked SOURCE PENDING. “Wiki label” means a term the Wiki uses for analysis, not a word from a period record.
- record Wording seen in a held document or its transcription
- record (OCR; page image not seen) Newspaper search-result text; page image not seen
- catalogue Archive catalogue wording; document not seen
- secondary A later source citing the record
- reported Reported reading; image not verified
- identity unresolved Source wording exists; whether it means the same thing is not proved
- wiki label The Wiki’s own analytical term
- SOURCE PENDING No record found yet
“Farmer woman”? Not in those words. The Western Mail of 20 November 1958, p.7, headlined its report “It’s a Crichel Down, says woman farmer” about Mrs M. D. Buckler (EV-0037). The text is from newspaper search-result OCR; the page image has not been seen. No record found says “farmer woman”. Source
Tap a dotted term for its other names: ⓘ opens the Legal Wiki page, the translate icon opens its page here.